Faculty members to receive awards

Three of Portland State’s faculty will receive the university’s top awards for their outstanding service to PSU during spring commencement, June 17.

Humanities librarian Robert Westover will receive the Butler Library Faculty Annual Service Award. He was responsible for the efficient development of the library’s monographic collection, which is a series of periodicals. Westover has been the library’s subject specialist in music, theater arts, applied linguistics, philosophy, French and Russian. He is also the co-author of a reference work, “Inter-Play.”

The Butler Library Award recognizes excellence of library service to students, faculty, and other patrons of the Branford Price Millar Library.

Professor Roy Koch, civil engineering and environmental science, will be awarded the George C. Hoffmann Award for distinguished contribution to Portland State in the areas of instruction, university service and scholarship.

Koch has been a faculty member for almost 20 years and has shown distinguished dedication to students and loyalty to the university.

Koch has also served as a faculty senator, director of environmental sciences and resources, director of systems science, dean of graduate studies and vice provost for research. The award is also accompanied by a $1,500 check.

Kenneth Dueker, professor of urban studies and planning, is being honored with the Branford Price Millar Award for his molding of a nationally recognized research agenda and as a mentor to students and colleges.

By applying Dueker’s geographic information systems to transportation and urban planning problems, it will make transportation data more accessible for analysis by transportation planners and engineers.

Earning his doctorate at the University of Washington, Dueker taught for three years at the University of Wisconsin at Madison and at the University of Iowa for 10 years before coming to Portland State over two decades ago.